Official name: Plurinational State of Bolivia.

Geographical location: The Plurinational State of Bolivia is located in the heart of South America, between 57 26 'and 69 38' longitude west of Greenwich and the parallels 9 38 'and 22 53' south latitude, covering more than 13 geographical degrees. Bounded to the north and northeast Brazil, northwest Peru, south Argentina, on the southwest Paraguay and west and southwest Chile.

National Holiday: August 6.

Area: 1,098,581 km.

Official time: GMT - 4 hours.

Official languages: Aymará, Arano, Baure, Bésiro, Canichana, Cavineño, Cayubaba, Chácobo, Chimán, Ese ejja, Guarani, Guarasu'we, Guarayu, Itonama, Leco, Machajuyaikallawaya, Machineri, Maropa, Mojeño-trinitario, Mojeño-ignaciano, Moré, Mosetén, Movima, Pacawara, Puquina, Quechua, Sirionó, Tacana, Tapiete, Toromona, Uru-chipaya, Weenhayek, Yaminawa, Yuki, Yuracaré y Zamuco.

Official Religion: The state respects and guarantees freedom of religion and spiritual beliefs, according to their worldviews. The state is independent of religion.

Political Division: Bolivia is organized into 9 autonomous municipal governments (departments) (Beni, Cochabamba, Chuquisaca, La Paz, Oruro, Pando, Potosi, Tarija and Santa Cruz), provinces, municipalities and indigena native peasants territories. All organized in the framework of the law of autonomy and decentralization, resulting in departmental autonomy, regional autonomy, municipal autonomy and peasant indigenous autonomy.

Bolivia is a Social Unitary State of Social Plurinational Communitarian Law, free, independent, sovereign, democratic, intercultural, decentralized and autonomous. Bolivia is based on the plurality and Politic Pluralism, economical, legal, cultural and linguistic within the country`s process of integration. Bolivia is along with Paraguay, one of the two countries of South America without a coastline, is the eighth most extensive in the Americas and the twenty-seventh worldwide.

The capital and seat of the Judicial Branch is Sucre city and the seat of government (executive and legislative branch) is La Paz city. It is a country that is based on the plurality and pluralism. It has a wide cultural, natural and archaeological diversity.

The main cities are: La Paz (seat of government) with 1,814,318 inhabitants of population in a metropolitan area (Murillo Province), Santa Cruz (Andres Ibañez Province), with 1,777,213 inhabitants, Cochabamba (Cercado Province) with 611,068 inhabitants and Chuquisaca (Oropeza Province) with 326,637 inhabitants.

Organization: The new State Constitution provides that the state is organized and structured its public power through four bodies: legislative, executive, judicial and electoral. The organization of the state is based on independence, separation, coordination and cooperation of these branches.

Legislative branch: Lies in the Plurinational Legislative Assembly and is composed of the Vicepresident of the state in his condition of President of Congress, the Senate (36 members) and Chamber of Deputies (130 members). All members are elected by universal, direct and secret vote.

Executive branch: Formed by the President elected by universal suffrage, compulsory, direct, free and secret ballot for a term of five years, and may be reelected only once continuously. This power is also composed of Ministers, Deputy Ministers, Directors and others.

Judicial branch: The jurisdiction is exercised by the Supreme Court of Justice, departmental courts, sentencing courts and judges, the jurisdiction of the Agro Environmental Court and Agro Environmental judges, the jurisdiction peasant indigenous is exercised by their own authorities, specialized courts will exist regulated by law.

Electoral branch: It is composed of the Supreme Electoral Court which has national jurisdiction and it has seven members, at least two of them will have to be of peasant indigenous. Departmental Electoral Courts, Courts Electoral Juries polling stations and electoral notaries.


1825 Connecticut Avenue N.W. Suite 200C

Washington, DC 20009

Tel: (202) 232-4827 / 4828

Fax: (202) 232-8017

M-F: 9:00am - 3:00pm